Using data valitation list from another sheet.

I remember someone comment this tip on some other site as a true excel “doh” moment…

If you want to use validation in a cell from a list of values from another sheet, you have to create a named range for that list first. (Insert>Name>Define) Then when you select the validiation range (Allow: List) you have to select the source box and press F3 to get the list of named ranges.

Please leave a comment, to let me know if this helped you or if I have to change anything to make things clear.

One Response

  1. Sup bro,

    The Blog looks great and the Posts too. So you blogging on Excel and Xcelsius? Both Huh? Thats cool. I would like to suggest something when you try to post Videos. Dont post it on Youtube or Google videos, they look really hazy once uploaded. Instead use Camtasia to record and upload them on http://www.Blip.tv. Its really a cool website and accepts high quality videos. I upload stuff to my own web server. Check out my post on Auto URL Trigger http://xcelsius.wordpress.com/2007/11/28/how-to-automatically-trigger-url-links-in-xcelsius-using-the-url-component/ . I have uploaded a video which has my voice too.

    Good luck and hope to see more from you.

    Regards,
    Kalyan Verma

Leave a comment