Multiply a range of values the proper way

I just had a great moment here at work. A colleague of mine had a excel sheet where he needed to multiply all values with a fixed number. After hearing him complain how long it was going to take for him to update the file I told him I could help him with it.  2 minutes later when I was having a cup of coffee in the lunch room he came in and asked me if I thought we could have the file updated by Friday. Check the mail, I’ve just mailed you the update I told him…

Do not underestimate the power of paste special… Put the fixed value in a temporary cell, copy the cell and select the range you want to update. Right click and select paste special – > multiply.

Please leave a comment, to let me know if this helped you or if I have to change anything to make things clear.